How does the Supreme Court of India Work? SSC-CGL, SSC-CHSL

Supreme Court of India: Powers & Functions  

Facts on Supreme Court of India

Supreme Court of India is the apex court.  The Supreme Court was inaugurated on January 28, 1950, and is mentioned in Part V of Chapter V of the Constitution of India. It is the uppermost court of appeal.

India got the concept of Single order of the court from the Government of India Act, 1935 and the Privy Council, which was the highest judicial body in the country during the British era.

On 29 October 1954 Dr. Rajendra Prasad the first President of India laid the foundation stone of the Supreme Court building.

Read more: State Legislature: How does it work?

Article 124 to 147 and Part V of the Indian Constitution informs about the composition and powers of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court consists of 1 Chief Justice and 25 other judges. Judges of Supreme Court are appointed by the President of India. They can remain in office till the age of 65 years. Supreme Court judge can be removed only in the condition of misconduct or on the recommendation of Parliament he can be removed by the President. A judge of the Supreme Court gives his resignation letter to the President.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court draws a salary of 1 lakh Rupees per month while the Judges of the Supreme Court gets Rs 90,000 per month.

The Chief Justice and other judges are entitled to a pension of Rs 60,000 and Rs 54,000 per annum, respectively. After retirement, a judge of the Supreme court shall not plead or act in any court before any authority in India.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court has the right to allow to establish the bench of the Supreme Court elsewhere in the country with prior approval of the President.

Read more: Social offences and their impact on the Criminal Justice System in India

The apex court met from 10 am to 12 and then from 2 pm to 4 pm for 28 days in a year. But today, it meets for 190 days a year.

The Right and left wings of the building represent two scales. The Right-Wing consists of the offices of the Attorney General of India and other law officers, the bar-room and the library whereas the Left Wing consists of the offices of the Court.

The design of the Court’s seal is reproduced from the wheel that appears on the abacus of the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka with 24 spokes.

The first woman judge of SC of India and also in Asia was Fathima Beevi who was appointed to Supreme Court in 1959.

For more such informative articles stay tuned to OWN Guru.

Facebook Comments