Complete list of Important Institutions of India (Updated list of 2020)

Important Institutions of India for SSC , IBPS and RRB NTPC 2019-20

The following article contains a list of important organizations and institutions from the purview of the SSC – CGL/CHSL Examination:

Reserve Bank of India (RBI)

Founded: 1st April 1935

Headquarters: Mumbai

RBI Governor: Shaktikanta Das

Objective: The RBI is India’s central banking institution, which controls the issuance and supply of the Indian Rupee.

Since it oversees the banking sector of India, It is also known as the Banker’s Bank.

It has the following functions:

  1. Issuer of Currency
  2. Managing money for the Government
  3. Custodian of Forex Reserves
  4. Custodian of Cash reserves
  5. Controls credit by changing different rates

Important Institutions of India

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

Founding Date: 1st October 1926

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson: Arvind Saxena

Objective: It is responsible for recruiting candidates for Government posts by conducting competitive examinations.

Security and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)

Founding date: 12th April 1992

Headquarters: Mumbai

Chairperson: Ajay Tyagi

Objective: It performs the function of a regulator for the securities market of India.

National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD)

Founding date: 12th July 1982

Headquarters: Mumbai

Chairperson: Harsh Kumar Bhanwala

Objective: It is the Supreme body that ensures the responsibility of policy formation and planning for agriculture and other economic activities of rural India.

Read more: What are the basic properties & Concepts of sound?

Read more: A Brief Overview of the Banking and Finance sector of India

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)

Founding date: 20th February 1997

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson: Ram Sewak Sharma

Objective:  It is the apex body in managing telecommunication services in India and protects the interests of service providers and consumers.

Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)

Founding date: 15th January 1951

Headquarters: Mumbai

Chairperson: Prasoon Joshi

Objective: The CBFC is a regulatory body under the ministry of information and broadcasting which regulates the public exhibition of films.

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India(FSSAI)

Founding date: 5th August 2011

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson: Rita Teaotia

Objective:  This organization aims to oversee all Food Business Operators (FBO) and ensures that food quality levels are maintained by them.

Board for Cricket Control in India (BCCI)

Founding date: December 1928

Headquarters: Mumbai

CEO: Rahul Johri

President: C.K Khanna

Women’s Coach: W.V. Raman

Men’s Coach: Ravi Shastri

Objective: It is the national governing body for Cricket in India. It is an autonomous body that does not take money from the government.

Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (IRDAI)

Founding Date: December 1999

Headquarters: Hyderabad

Chairperson: Subhash Chandra Khuntia

Objective: This body is responsible for regulating insurance companies in India. IRDAI is a 10 member body which includes 1 chairman, 5 full-time and 4 part-time members appointed by the government of India. 

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research(CSIR)

Founding date: 26th September 1942

Headquarters: New Delhi

President: Prime minister of India

Head: Shekhar C. Mande 

Objective:  CSIR is the largest research and development organization in India and functions under the Ministry of Science and Technology. 

Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB)

Founding Date: 22nd September 1974

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson:  S.P Singh Parihar

Objective:  The CPCB is the body responsible for curbing pollution in our nation and providing technical services to the Ministry of Environment and Forests.

National Highway Authority of India (NHAI)

Founded: 1988

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson: Sanjeev Ranjan

Objective: The NHAI is responsible for developing and maintaining National Highways and other highways which come under the Government of India.

Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)

Founded: 15th August 1969 by Vikram Sarabhai

Headquarters: Bengaluru

Director: K. Sivan

Objective: This organization aims to develop space technology and use it for various national needs. This organization is responsible for launching the infamous Chandrayaan missions to the moon.

National Institute for Transforming India Aayog (NITI Aayog)

Founded: 1st January 2015

Headquarters: New Delhi

Chairperson: Prime Minister of India

Objective: It is the think tank of the Government of India that has replaced the planning commission. This institution is responsible for achieving sustainable development goals.

Other Notable organizations

Organization Headquarters Notable persons
Steel  Authority of India(SAIL) New Delhi CEO: Anil Kumar Choudhary
Life Insurance Corporation (LIC) Mumbai Chairman: M R Kumar
National Association of Software and Service Companies(NASSCOM) New Delhi Chairperson: Rishad Premji
Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) New Delhi Chairperson: Shashi Shanker
Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce( FICCI) New Delhi   President: Rakesh Shah
Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL) New Delhi Chairman: Pravin Kumar Purwar
Defense Research and Development  Organization (DRDO)  New Delhi Chairman: Dr. G Satheesh Reddy
Medical Council of India (MCI) New Delhi President: Jayshreeben Mehta 
National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT) New Delhi President: Ramesh Pokhriyal
Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI) Noida Chairman: Jalaj Shrivastava

Central Statistical Organization (CSO)
New Delhi Rao Inderjit Singh ( Ministry of Statistics)
Press Trust of India(PTI) New Delhi Chairman: Vijay Kumar Chopra
Facebook Comments