India received its first Nobel Prize 12 years after the Debut

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to bring glory to the country

The Nobel prize is one of the prestigious achievements all over the world and it is given to individuals based on their achievements. In 1895 a Swedish chemist Alfred Noble had drafted his will in which he mentioned to reserve a large part of his estate to establish a Noble Prize.

After five years the committee was established and the first set of awards for Physiology or Medicine, Chemistry, Literature, Physics and Peace was awarded in 1901.

India attained the first Nobel Prize almost a century ago. Philosopher, writer and poet Rabindranath Tagore was the first one from India to get the Nobel Prize. He was also the first non-European to receive Nobel Price in literature. In 1913, at the age of 52, he was accorded the honour, undoubtedly he brought glory to the country.

Subsequently, 9 people of Indian connection have been conferred the prestigious award in various categories. There were many famous people from India who got nominated for this award but failed to receive the award. The committee had considered Sri Aurobindo two times for the award in the literature category in the year 1943, 1950, and Mahatma Gandhi had been considered five times for the award before his assassination.

Here is the list of all Indians who have won Nobel prize

 Rabindranath Tagore

Tagore was the first non-European to win the award in literature and was the first Indian to bring this glory to the country. He originally used to write in Bengali however, the translation of his poetry paved him a huge Western audience. Tagore wrote his first poetry at the age of 8 and at the age of 16 he got his first collection of poetry published. He passed away in 1941, at the age of 81.

Read more: A timeline of the formation of the RTI Act 2009

Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman

Born in Tiruchirappalli, C.V Raman was the first Indian physicist to win Nobel Prize. In 1930 he was awarded for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him” was Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. When he was awarded, he was working with the Calcutta University. He died at the age of 82 in Bangalore.

Har Gobind Khorana

In 1968, Har Gobind Khorana was awarded Nobel Prize in Physiology (medicine). His work on electron diffraction got him the award. He shared the award with Robert W Holley and Marshall W Nirenberg “for their interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis”.

Mother Teresa

In 1979 Mother Teresa got Nobel Peace Prize. After coming to India, she founded Missionaries of Charity in Calcutta.  She along with her helpers built homes for orphans, nursing homes for lepers, and hospices for terminally ill.

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

In 1983, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar got his Nobel Prize in Physics for “theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars”. He shared his award with American nuclear Physicist William Alfred Fowler.

Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen is the only Indian economist and the sole winner of the 1998 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences. This was introduced by the Nobel Prize committee in memory of Alfred Nobel. He got Nobel Prize for his work on the fundamental problems in welfare economics, important resources in a community, and ways to divide them.

Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul

Commonly Known as V. S. Naipaul, got Nobel prize in 2001 in the field of literature. He has many fiction and nonfiction works in English. Naipaul passed away in August 2018.

Read more: Untouchability and Article 17: Understand in simple words

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Born in 1952, in Tamil Nadu, Venkatraman received the Nobel Prize in 2009 for his work in Chemistry. He got the award for his research “for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome”. He shared the award with Thomas A Steitz and Ada E Yonath. When he received the award he was working with MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge.

Kailash Satyarthi

In 2014, Kailash Satyarthi along with Malala Yousafzai received Nobel Prize for their fight against the suppression of children and the young people, and for the right to education for all children.

Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee

Born in 1961, Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee got Nobel Prize in 2019, he shared it with his economist-wife Esther Duflo and another US-based economist, Michael Kremer.

For more such informative articles stay tuned to OWN Guru.

Facebook Comments