List of Important Annual Sessions of Indian National Congress

Annual Sessions of Indian National Congress that you should know

Sessions of Indian National Congress: The Indian National Congress was one of the most important political parties in Indian political history. It was formed in 1885 by Allan Octavian Hume. W.C. Bonnerjee, Surendranath Banerjee, William Wedderburn, Monomohun Ghose, M.G. Ranade, Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha and Pherozeshah Mehta were also the founders of INC.

From an exam point of view, it is very important to know about these annual sessions of the INC.

Read more: Ramsar Wetland Sites in India: Important from exam point of view

Year and Place



Bombay, 1885

W C Bonnerjee

This was the first session. 72 delegates attended it.

Calcutta, 1886

Dadabhai Naoroji

National Congress and National Conference were merged. 

Madras, 1887

Syed Badruddin Tyabji

607 delegates attended this.

An appeal made to Muslims to join hands with other national leaders

Calcutta, 1896

Rahimtullah M. Sayani

National song ‘Vande Mataram’ was sung for the first time

Benares, 1905

Gopal Krishna Gokhale

Resentment was shown against the partition of Bengal

Calcutta, 1906

Dadabhai Naoroji

The word ‘swaraj’ was mentioned for the first time.

Surat, 1907

Rash Behari Ghosh

The ‘Surat Split’- Party splits into extremists and moderates

Lahore, 1909

Madan Mohan Malaviya

Disapproval was expressed over the separate electorates on basis of religion as given in Indian Councils Act, 1909.

Calcutta, 1911

Bishan Narayan Dar

National anthem ‘Jana Gana Mana’ was sung for the first time

Lucknow, 1916

Ambica Charan Mazumdar

Lucknow Pact was signed.

The extremists and moderates reunited.

Calcutta, 1917

Annie Besant

She was the first woman president of the INC

Amritsar, 1919

Motilal Nehru

The Jallianwalla Bagh massacre was condemned.

Khilafat Movement was boosted

Belgaum, 1924

M K Gandhi

Kanpur, 1925

Sarojini Naidu

Lahore, 1929

Jawaharlal Nehru

This was an iconic session. 

Resolution for ‘Poorna Swaraj’ was passed.

 Civil Disobedience movement was launched.

Gandhi- Irwin pact was endorsed.

Karachi, 1931

Vallabhbhai Patel

The Congress adopted a resolution on Fundamental Rights and Economic Policy

Haripura, 1938

Subhas Chandra Bose

National Planning Committed set-up under J.L Nehru

Tripuri, 1939

Subhas Chandra Bose

Bose had to resign due to differences with Gandhi

Meerut, 1946

Acharya Kripalani

Last session before independence

Facebook Comments