Why was NITI Ayog established?: Important Notes

Introduction of NITI Ayog in India: Understand its Aims & objectives

NITI Ayog stands for National Institution for Transforming India. It is a policy think of the government. It was established with the aim to achieve sustainable  development goals with cooperative federalism by fostering state governments of India in the economic – policymaking process.

Read more: Five-Year plans in India and their importance

Read more: Nutrition in Animals- How their digestive system works?

NITI aayog

When was NITI Ayog established?

The NITI Ayog was established on January 1, 2015. Notably, NITI Ayog replaced planning commission in India.  The decision was taken after extensive consultation across the spectrum of stakeholders, including state governments and domain experts.  Notably, it was started by NDA  ( National Democratic Alliance) and came into effect after the announcement of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2014.

What are the functions of NITI Ayog?

  1. The main and the most important function of NITI Ayog is to evolve a shared vision of national development priorities strategies with the active involvement of states in the light of national objectives
  2. Another main function of NITI Ayog is to pay special attention to the sections of society that are on the risk of not getting adequate benefits from economic progress.
  3. To develop mechanisms at village level and then aggregate them progressively at higher levels of government.
  4. NITI Ayog design strategic and long –term policies and programme framework. They are continuously monitored and lessons learnt from the feedback are used to make improvements.

NITI Ayog VS Planning Commission of India

NITI Ayog was introduced to replace the five-year plan programme in India. The main difference between NITI Ayog and Planning Commission of India  is as follows:

1.NITI Ayog calls for greater involvement of states whereas planning commission looks top to bottom with one size – fits – all plan.

  1. NITI Ayog include a leader’s from 28 states and 9 Union territories. But the core team of the Ayog will have a deputy chairman, Chief Executive officer and experts and will report to Prime Minister, not like planning commission which used to report to National Development Council
  2. The role of Planning Commission was to formulate broad policies and its capacity was more advisory. On the other hand, NITI Aayog has more powers for the allocation of resources to states according to their needs.

Who is the current deputy chairperson?

The current Deputy Chairperson of NITI Aayog is Harivansh Narayan Singh.

Who was the first vice-chairman of NITI Aayog?

Arvind Panagariya was the first vice-chairman of NITI Aayog and he served it from 2015 to 2017. 

For more such informative articles stay tuned to OWN TV.

Facebook Comments